# DOCKET ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CONGREGATION THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF DOVER

Sunday, February 11, 2024, in the sanctuary immediately following worship via Hybrid model

The Moderator, The Rev. Dr. Mark E. Parsons II, to open the meeting with prayer.

Clerk to confirm the presence of a quorum.

**Motion:** from the Clerk to approve the docket.

Review of Clerk's and Committee reports: questions appropriate.

Review of 2023 expenses and the 2024 budget- Karin Faulhaber/ Dave Denny

#### **Trustee CLASS of 2026**

Karin Faulhaber (2)

Nominations from the floor:

**Motion** to close nominations.

Motion: to appoint Karin Faulhaber as trustee.

Motion: To AMEND THE CHURCH BY-LAWS, ADOPTED NOVEMBER 2017, TO READ AS

PRESENTED ON BACK PAGE...

**Discussion:** 

**Motion:**/Second to approve the bylaws as presented.

Motion: To adjourn.

The Moderator to close the meeting with prayer:

### Respectfully submitted;

Julia Wheeler-Dean

Clerk of Session

## Proposed Bylaw Changes Endorsed by Session to be presented at Congregational Meeting, Sunday, February 11, 2024

#### 3. Officers

- a. The officers of the Church are:
  - (1) No fewer than three and no more than 12 elders and who, with the pastor and any associate pastors (if any) comprise the session, and
  - (2) No fewer than three and no more than nine deacons, who are organized as a board, and who minister to the needy and perform such other duties as are directed by the session.
  - (3) No fewer than three and no more than six trustees, who function as the corporate entity of the congregation, and who are elected by the congregation to three-year terms not to exceed six years consecutively. However, members of the Board of Trustees must have attained the age of eighteen
  - (4) one president and one treasurer of the corporation, elected annually by the Session.
- b. Who can serve. Any active member of the congregation can be elected as an officer. Nomination and election shall comply with G-2.0102. No elder or deacon may serve on the Session or Board of Deacons more than six years consecutively..
- e. Terms of office. Officers elected at the congregational meeting held in the last quarter of the year shall assume their duties at the first regular meeting of their Church body in the calendar year after their election. They shall serve for a term of three years and shall continue in office until their successors are elected, ordained, and installed in office. Officers elected to fill unexpired terms shall begin their service upon installation and serve the remaining period of the term to which they are elected. Officers may serve no more than two consecutive terms.
- **6. Nominating Committee.** There shall be a Nominating Committee composed of five members. At least one member shall be elected by the Session and shall be the chair. One member shall be a member of the Board of Deacons. Three members shall be elected by the congregation to three-year terms for a maximum of six consecutive years.